The Always Evolving and Partially Unwritten Five-Year Plan

Home Sweet Home

Hey you guys?

Um. Yeah. So we made it home. Safe and sound.

About two months ago.

Sorry we didn’t call when we got in.

I don’t really know where the time has gone. One minute you are getting over some wicked jet lag and the next minute you are complaining about skinny jeans at the Gap. (My first world problems seem to have come back full force. I don’t know how that happened.)

We have readjusted to life in the USA pretty well, sharing lots of local (much missed) food with friends and family, driving in insane traffic, and watching Braves games.  We have gotten to kiss babies that were born in our absence, hug dear friends, take countless silly pictures of our dog. (Sorry if you follow me on Instagram, Henry is pretty much blowing the thing up.) Birthday parties, hometown parades, backyard get togethers and engagement dinners have all been on the agenda. The weather in the Peach State has been unseasonable cool this past week, with us being able to sleep with the windows open, which I considered a personal “Welcome Home” present from God. Oh, and I haven’t heard the National Athem once without crying like a baby slightly tearing up. 

I do miss all the things I said I would miss. I didn’t realize I would find it weird that no one here stares at me here. I took it quite personally at first, but now I just realize it is because I look like everyone else again. 

I loved (most) of our adventure in Southeast Asia. It was the trip of a lifetime. A lot of people have asked us, “Would you do it again?” or “Are you glad you went?” And the answer to both questions is a resounding “YES.” But there is something about coming home that is so soothing and grounding that I feel like I sleep better and think better and breathe better and I AM better here. Maybe it’s because we went away I feel that way, or maybe it’s not.

Either way, we’re glad to be back home. And are ready whatever the next adventure might be.

(We are taking any and all suggestions right now. Go ahead, don’t be shy.)

One response

  1. Meaghan

    Welcome home, Jenny! Loved this post. Especially crying like a baby, ahem- slightly tearing up- when hearing The National Anthem. I already do that, and I have never left for a significant amount of time! I think about feeling very lucky to be born here in the USA quite often. We are truly blessed.

    I have NO IDEA where I would suggest you go next- are you really going to do all that again?!?! Soon?! What are y’alls short term plans?

    August 25, 2012 at 10:21 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers