The Always Evolving and Partially Unwritten Five-Year Plan

Captivating Cambodia

I am making good to my pledge to go back and blog about some of our adventures that I didn’t quite have time to do in real time. Some of you may have seen pictures on facebook, but I’m going back and adding in the good parts (aka-my thoughts) on the entire trip.  I’m going to start working my way backwards, starting with the last big trip we took  in December over the holidays. We wanted to do a bit of a “Farewell Asia” tour and hit some of the spots that we hadn’t had a chance to do yet. Using two weeks of my Christmas break we headed out to Siem Reap, Cambodia, Krabi, Thailand, and Hanoi, Vietnam.

The first place we went was Cambodia and out of the three places, it was my favorite without a doubt. It was the poorest country I have ever been to and is recovering from an amazingly horrible history, but the people we met had a quiet determination and seemed so genuinely nice and kind in a way that I’m not sure if I would be if I was in their place.

The Siem Reap airport was surprisingly modern and nice and our driver picked us up right out front, which is always a  relief when you are very clearly a tourist in country that is unknown to you. He took us to our hotel, the Golden Temple Hotel. As cheesy as the name is, it was one of the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Not the fanciest, not the most expensive, but the nicest people, a great location, lovely room, spa treatments, THE WORKS! If you are ever in the neighborhood you should forgo the Holiday Inn and stay at the Golden Temple Hotel instead.  For breakfast our driver took us to a local hang out for a traditional Cambodia breakfast of meat, rice and some cucumbers on the side.

Traditional breakfast in Cambodia

After breakfast we headed to the temples. Over the next two days, we saw lots and lots of temples, each with their own unique story and symbolism. The coolest thing about them temples is the fact that they are from the 12th century! Having lasted as long as they have, through all the conflicts that Cambodia has had, to still be standing is pretty remarkable. Here are a few of my favorites:

One of many temples in Cambodia

Where they filmed a little movie called "Tomb Raider."

The Legendary Angkor Wat

A shrine with prayer flags in one of temples.

At the end of the day, as we were having dinner at a french restaurant overlooking downtown Siem Reap and we saw the mother of all motorbikes. We have seen a lot of things and people on motorbikes since we have been in Asia, but this was a new record-six people on one motorbike!!! Count carefully! It was the perfect way to end the day.

The record for people on a motorbike-6!!!

So, have you ever seen six people on a motorbike? Or, dare I say it-MORE? What is the most bizarre thing you have ever seen being carried on a motorbike, domestically or international?

2 responses

  1. What an amazing adventure you have had! I’m so glad you left me a comment on my blog so I could visit yours! Best from Copenhagen!

    February 28, 2012 at 1:12 PM

    • jgmcrew

      Thanks so much for visiting! I’m not quite as good as you about documenting what is going on overseas, but seeing your blog made me want to get my act together! Love you blog and look forward to hearing more about your ongoing adventures!

      March 1, 2012 at 1:42 AM

Leave a Reply

