The Always Evolving and Partially Unwritten Five-Year Plan

Flashmob Fever

I can’t hold in the excitement any longer!

This weekend, I checked one thing off my bucket list by participating in my very first flashmob!!! Flashmobs, parades, and broadway shows. All up there in my book.

I wasn’t any good, didn’t know any of the dance moves, can’t dance at all anyway, and after watching the video am slightly embarrassed at all the money my parents spent on dance lessons, but had an absolute blast anyway.

For those of you that want the details:

What: Flashmob goodness. It was a montage of  Kylie Minogue songs because she was supposed to be performing next weekend and all participants were going to get free tickets as part of the F1 Concert Series. *See note at bottom for follow up

Where: KLCC (one of the huge local malls) and home of the Twin Towers

When: Saturday afternoon (practice was before that, but we skipped most of it to go and eat a lovely lunch. In hindsight, maybe a little less lunching and a little more practicing would have been a better choice.)

Who: A bunch of Malaysians that could totally rock out the dance moves were in the front of the group. My friends Jenn and Rebecca invited me (or I invited myself, the lines are a little blurred on that one) and a bunch of their lovely Irish, English and Australian friends were also members of the “Kylie Dance Squad.”  (That’s what they called us.) We stood in the back, but were still quite noticeable.

Weather: Sunny 90 million degrees

Post Flashmob! (Did I say it was hot?)

Post Flashmob! (Did I say it was hot?)

Get ready to laugh your bootie off and wish you were here! (I would like to point out that I think the third and final selection was where I really started to shine. Let me know if you think I should head straight to New York City.)

What about you guys? Have you ever done a flashmob? Do you want to? If you know of one that we can do, can you call me, please?! 

I might be addicted.

Video Evidence of the Event on Youtube

*Sadly, we all received an email the next day saying that the Kylie Minogue concert had been cancelled and therefore, no tickets for those that did the flashmob. The newspaper said it was contract disputes that canceled the concert, but then we heard it was the Malaysian government that canceled the concert as they didn’t think Kylie would be a good influence on its citizens. I’m not saying. I’m just saying. 

7 responses

  1. Dennis

    That was so cool!

    March 21, 2012 at 4:59 AM

  2. Andrea

    I don’t know of any, but I’ll totally embarrass myself with you if you can find another!

    March 21, 2012 at 12:12 PM

    • Jenny

      @ Andrea- Ummm….did you see the video? I’m pretty sure I’ve got the totally embarrassing part covered! We will find one to do in Atlanta when I get home for sure!

      March 21, 2012 at 1:08 PM

  3. Amazing! That looks like it was a lot of fun. I like watching people’s reactions. My favorite part of the whole concept is the surprise element, so I think I would actually prefer to be surprised by a flash mob around me than to be in one. But you probably could have guessed that.

    March 21, 2012 at 5:54 PM

    • jgmcrew

      If you youtube the other videos taken that day, there are a lot more that capture the fun reactions of the crowd better than this one. But this one was a friend that was taking video of us, so clearly this is the one I love. I would love to be surprised by one too though.

      March 22, 2012 at 1:35 PM

  4. Kara

    Very cool!
    Kara

    March 22, 2012 at 1:23 AM

    • jgmcrew

      Thanks Kara!

      March 22, 2012 at 1:33 PM

Leave a Reply

