The Always Evolving and Partially Unwritten Five-Year Plan

One. Singular Australian Sensation.

One.

Singular sensation.

Every little step he takes.

One of Broadway’s most famous productions was coming to Singapore and we were going!

Before the show, Dad and I found yet another amazing restaurant in Singapore, called Pizzeria Mozza.

Mozza in Marina Bay Sands. Highly recommended!

We didn’t know it at the time, but it turns out that “Mozza” is an American chain out of California and had some seriously good salad, bruschetta, and pizza.  Our brushetta had squash and real bacon on it. Yes, real bacon. It sounds gross, but I assure you, it was heaven on crunchy bread. I think it had been so long since I smelled squash and bacon that I could close my eyes and be transported to the Thanksgiving table. Ah, pork and cold weather vegetables, I miss you so.

Mmmm…..I’m making these next Thanksgiving dinner!

As for the show itself….well, I thought it was a little disappointing. At first, I wasn’t exactly sure what it was, but now I think I can pin it on one minor flaw.

They were Australian.

Now, you know, I LOVE me some Australia! The people, the food, the country, everything. I don’t want to jeopardize my possible dual citizenship that I’m sure they are going to offer me any day now. Rest assured, I am still madly in love with Australia.

But, for a Broadway show set in New York city, those Aussies trying to do American accents weren’t quite right. Or, in the case of the sassy Puerto Rican girl, not right at all. I realized that this was my problem about half way through and checked back in the program and sure enough, it was an all Australian production! I wonder if every other nation feels that way when Americans make lame attempts at foreign accents. Before I moved overseas, I had never heard anyone “do” an American accent, so this is most likely the case. Get back to me if this is true or false.

Regardless, we got a picture to match with our Wicked one from a few months ago…(well, minus Dan) 😦

And got this gem of some kiddies posing with the sign too…

Their moms took about 50 shots of them! And who wouldn’t?!

And don’t worry Australia, I still love you and you are still invited to my birthday party.

(If you are over 25, did you used to say people weren’t invited to your birthday party when you were mad at them as a kid? My sisters and I used to do it all the time! Do kids still do this? I thought it was pretty effective as a six year old.) 

Leave a Reply

